Skip to content

Somalia Officially Joins East Africa Trade Bloc

Al Jazeera reported that during the summit of the East African Community (EAC) on Nov. 23, Somalia was officially admitted as a member of the bloc. “We have decided to admit the Federal Republic of Somalia under the treaty of accession,” outgoing EAC chair, Burundian President Evariste Ndayishimiye said at the summit, which took place in Arusha, Tanzania.

Somalia—whose President, Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, was at the summit—joined Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda in the regional bloc.

This post is for paying subscribers only


Already have an account? Sign In