Skip to content

Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger Take New Step in Integrating Their Electrification

The Sahel nations of Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger, which have formed an Alliance of Sahel States (AES), have taken steps to integrate their energy systems, and achieve full electrification. On Feb. 23, in the Burkinabe capital of Ouagadougou, the countries held a workshop of various electricity companies, where they decided to form two axes to guarantee access to reliable and affordable electricity in the region, AES info reports.

The first track aims to integrate, enhance and optimize existing capacity within the three countries. They will work together to evaluate the hydroelectric potential of the region and carry out a pre-feasibility for a joint nuclear power plant, as well as building factories for the production of electrical equipment.

This post is for paying subscribers only


Already have an account? Sign In