Skip to content

Palestine Formally Recognized by Spain, Norway and Ireland. More To Follow?

Today Spain, Norway, and Ireland all formally recognized Palestine as a state, as they had announced, last week, that they would do conjointly. Spain’s Foreign Minister Jose Manuel Albares announced their recognition this morning. Prior to that, Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez had stressed that the decision was not an attack on Israel, but a matter of historic justice, an affirmation of the legitimate aspirations of the Palestinian people, and a precondition for peace in the Middle East.

Slovenia’s Prime Minister Robert Golob announced today that his government will decide on the recognition of a Palestinian state on Thursday and forward its decision to its parliament for final approval. Since Slovenia launched the recognition procedure earlier this month, Golob has been under pressure to act in tandem with the moves of Spain, Norway, and Ireland.

This post is for paying subscribers only


Already have an account? Sign In